Main navigation

Academics

Academic Departments

Academic Departments at Chief Sealth International

Department Chair

Sarah Martin | 206-252-8628 ssmartin1@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Alicia Blake | 206-252-8637 amblake@seattleschools.org

Linda Filley-Bentler | 206-252-8590 lifilleybent@seattleschools.org

Maha Giundi | 206-252-8613 mmgiundi@seattleschools.org

Sarah Martin | 206-252-8628 ssmartin1@seattleschools.org

Mario Martinez | 206-252-8686 mmmartinez@seattleschools.org

Joan Stanton | 206-252-8624 jastanton@seattleschools.org

Department Information

CTE at Chief Sealth International High School Career and Technical Education at Sealth is committed to providing relevant and genuine learning opportunities for students in a variety of pathways. These classes are a valuable part of a well-rounded education that provide opportunities for career exploration, skill development, and preparation for further education. Many of our programs offer dual credit or industry recognized certifications. Our current pathways include Business & Marketing, Culinary & Hospitality, Education and Human Services, Media Arts, and Skilled and Technical Sciences.

We also offer the Career-related Programme (CP) which is designed by the International Baccalaureate (IB), to provide a college level rigor tailored to students who want to focus on career-related learning in the last two years of high school. It allows students to create an individualized path that leads to either further study or employment after graduation. The CP core consists of four components—community and service, a personal and professional skills course, language development and a reflective project—blended together to enhance critical thinking and intercultural understanding. Combined, these elements help students develop the communication and personal skills necessary for success in a rapidly changing world.

For more detailed info about our pathways and programs, check out the course catalog here: https://chiefsealthhs.seattleschools.org/academics/registrationcourse-information/course-guide-career-technical-education/

Department Chair

Pedro Lopez-Chaves | 206-252-8643 plchaves@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Pedro Lopez-Chaves | 206-252-8643 plchaves@seattleschools.org

Ruben Molina-Sanchez | 202-252-8607 rumolinasanc@seattleschools.org

Department Information

The Dual-Language Immersion program at Chief Sealth International High School follows a coordinated Pathway in the southwest region of Seattle Public Schools, including with Concord IES and Denny IMS. The Dual-language program provides students with the SPS Social Studies Curriculum using Spanish as the primary language. Every Heritage learner (considering any student who communicates in Spanish at home) is welcome to the program.

Additionally, research shows that dual-language immersion programs support the development of English as a second language.

Department News and Highlights

Beyond a Game by Pedro Lopez-Chaves

On Friday the 25th of March, Franklin High School (FHS) and Chief Sealth HIS (CS) played a soccer game for the metro league championship. FHS is in the Mt. Baker neighborhood, and most of their students come from Mercer MS. CS, in the West Seattle area, receives most of their students from Denny MS.

I was planning to attend the previous game played by CS on Monday, but they asked me to go better to this game since it was a more competitive level for both teams. They started playing very respectfully. As the students anticipated, both teams had a similar skill level. CS was having the ball for more time than FHS but without clear chances to score.

Unexpectedly, a well driven attack from FHS became the first goal of the game, 0-1.

After FHS 1st goal, CS seems to be knocked out, but slowly the host team is reacting. The players knew a goal was coming. They hit the post and missed a penalty… The next shot had to be a goal. Around the 60th minute, Daniel got the ball around Franklin’s 35-yard line and played a perfect ball over the top for Zed Sylwester; then he calmly went around the goalie, slotted the shot away to score: 1-1 with plenty of time to still win the game. Now CS was more confident and their chances to score were increasing. It was the 70th minute when the young of the Sylwester brothers pinged the ball into a 50/50 battle, Cabrera is there to win the ball; he notices the keeper outside his 6-yard box, then he takes a touch and has a hit from outside the 40 yards…. Goooaaal!!! CS is now 2-1 up with 20 minutes of an intense match left.

As the clock moves on, the impression was CS is going to win due to the incapability of FHS to tie again got disrupted when after approaching several times CS, FHS found its reward to tie the score at 2-2.

The game is coming to an end, probably the 2-2 score was fair. There is no more time. We witnessed the last chance for CS. The goalkeeper, D. Cortez, got the ball, and with minimal time on the clock, he decided that was best to get the ball up the field, so he punted it forward. With the ball just past the midfield line. Zed flicked the ball over his head to continue the attack. Then, Jonathan had the speed to get to the ball, to his luck, Stoli was just starting to join the attack from his center-back position when he received the ball out of the air with his first touch, picked his head up and realized the keeper was out of position, then he slotted the ball right past the goalie to the bottom left corner of the net. The euphoria hit him instantly as he knew it was the winning goal.

This Chronicle could end up here, happy ending for CS, good vibes for FHS, but there is more to add. For Zed, D. Cabrera, and Stoli Sylwester, (the 3 CS goal scorer of the game) it wasn’t a regular game. They

attended at Mercer MS and participated in the Dual Language Spanish Immersion Program. Their (and their families’) frustration came up when they didn’t have an appropriate pathway for the DL Program in the SouthEast region of the School District. Then they assessed the situation to make a decision: although they will have to deal with a significant commute and will separate their lives from many of their friends (now rivals in a soccer game), they decided to attend CS to keep enrolled in the DL Immersion Program. They prioritized language learning and its advantages. Now CS enjoys their skills as soccer players.

Department Chair

Amber Allison | 206-252-8631 alallison@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Amber Allison | 206-252-8625 alallison@seattleschools.org

Dillon Docherty | 206-252-8585 dsdocherty@seattleschools.org

Breanna Johnson | 206-252-8633 bdjohnson@seattleschools.org

Noelle Jung | 206-252-8584 nmjung@seattleschools.org

James MacDonald | 206-252-8621 jemacdonald@seattleschools.org

Gentle McGaughey | 206-252-8681 gitassione@seattleschools.org

Angelia Thornton | 206-252-8589 atthornton@seattleschools.org

Department Information

The Chief Sealth English Language Arts Department focuses on providing students with opportunities to hone their reading strategies and composition skills from 9th-12th grades. Students read and analyze a large range of text types with a focus on developing their academic vocabulary. Throughout the four years, students have the agency to design independent projects that speak to their curiosity and interests. All CSIHS students take the two year IB Language and Literature course as juniors and seniors. While students are not required to take the Language and Literature IB exam toward the end of their senior year, they are encouraged to do so as they have the potential to earn college credit.

CTE Department Chair

Katie Batts | 206-252-8586 kabatts@seattleschools.org

Joshua Cohen | 206-252-8619 jecohen@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Katie Batts | 206-252-8586 kabatts@seattleschools.org

Joshua Cohen | 206-252-8619 jecohen@seattleschools.org

Assegid Derseh | 206-252-8664 aaderseh@seattleschools.org

Craig Hawley | 206-252-8625 cehawley@seattleschools.org

Peter Le | 206-252-8616 ptle1@seattleschools.org

Maria Lopez | 206-252-8680 mglopez@seattleschools.org

Jennifer Marshall| 206-252-8588 jmmarshall1@seattleschools.org

Dijana Raco | 206-252-8574 diraco@seattleschools.org

Department Information

The Chief Sealth International High School math department works hard to provide robust and rigorous math instruction.  We approach teaching collaboratively, and work together to create a common experience for students throughout the school.  Students at CSIHS work to develop problem solving skills by developing an appreciation for the productive struggle of the learning process.

Students in grades 9-12 have the opportunity to take a wide range of classes.  We offer Algebra 1, Geometry, and many other courses to fulfil graduation requirements.  Our IB offerings include: Math Applications and Interpretations SL (4 semesters A/B/C/D), Math Analysis and Approaches SL (2 semesters C/D), and Math Analysis and Approaches HL (2 semesters C/D, for 12th graders only).  Other options for students are earning some college credit by taking Business Math (BUS130) or meeting their math graduation pathway by taking Bridge to College Math as a 4th year math class.

The math department is a wonderful mix of veteran and newer teachers.  We have teachers that are Nationally Board, CTE, and ELL certified.  We have career educators and others that left their previous professions to become educators.  Our team is diverse like our amazing student body, and we are excited that we are members of the Chief Sealth community.

Department Chairs

Sara Esrick | 206-252-8641 seesrick@seattleschools.org

Lisa Luiz | 206-252-8581 liluiz@seattleschools.org

Teachers

Ryan Casey | 206-252-8605 rpcasey@seattleschools.org

Sara Dominguez | 206-252-8685 srframe1@seattleschools.org

Sara Esrick | 206-252-8641 seesrick@seattleschools.org

Maria Lopez | 206-252-8680 mglopez@seattleschools.org

Lisa Luiz | 206-252-8581 liluiz@seattleschools.org

Kevin Wood | 206-252-7535 krwood@seattleschools.org

Instructional Assistants

Carla Carvallo | Spanish cacarvallova@seattleschools.org

Irma Hernandez | Spanish inhernandez@seattleschools.org

Juan Lopez | Spanish jllopez@seattleschools.org

Phu Au | Vietnamese pmau@seattleschools.org

Arus Haji | Amharic/Oromo aahaji@seattleschools.org

Abdifatah Haji | Somali/Amharic athaji@seattleschools.org

Department Information

The Chief Sealth Multilingual Department offers Aligned Sheltered Instruction classes in Language Arts 9, 10, and 11, World History 1, 2, and 3, U.S. History and American Government, Science, Math, Health and Bridge to College English. Multilingual students are expected to immerse themselves in reading, writing, listening, and speaking English while learning the essential content of each course. In addition, our students will practice social skills and learn about the customs and cultural traditions in the United States, and well as the varied customs and traditions of their classmates from all over the world.

Department Chair

Denise Hagen | 206-252-8646 dkhagen@seattleschools.org

Teachers

Shannon Duffy | 206-252-8703 shduffy@seattleschools.org

Denise Hagen | 206-252-8646 dkhagen@seattleschools.org

Ernestcarl Policarpio | 206-252-8603 edpolicarpio@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Teachers and Staff

Gabriella Sanchez-Stern | 206-252-8566 gbsanchezste@seattleschools.org

Delfino Munoz | 206-252-8675 dmunoz@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chair

Jason Glover | 206-252-8578 jaglover@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Nadia Ahmed | 206-252-8577 nsahmed@seattleschools.org

Kim Dinh | 206-252-8579 kadinh@seattleschools.org

Sara Dominguez | 206-252-8685 srframe1@seattleschools.org

Tamara Field | 206-252-8639 ttfield@seattleschools.org

Jason Glover | 206-252-8578 jaglover@seattleschools.org

Marni Jacobs | 206-252-8562 mljacobs@seattleschools.org

Rebecca Neil | 206-252-8676 rlneil@seattleschools.org

Ina Shepard | 206-252-8634 ihshepard@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chair

Boo Balkan Foster | 206-252-8622 balkanfoster@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Boo Balkan Foster | 206-252-8622 balkanfoster@seattleschools.org

Kam Pom | 206-252-8622 kapom@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chair

Ian Golash | 206-252-8626 ipgolash@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Matt Baudhuin | 206-252-8609 mlbaudhuin@seattleschools.org

Ian Golash | 206-252-8626 ipgolash@seattleschools.org

Katie Hubert | 206-252-8583 kahubert@seattleschools.org

Angelia Thornton | 206-252-8589 atthornton@seattleschools.org

Chelsey White | 206-252-8649 cmwhite@seattleschools.org

Alonzo Ybarra | 206-252-1063 atybarra@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chair

Vanessa Schultz | 206-252-8677 vapepe@seattleschools.org

Teachers

Carliss Binder | 206-252-8692 cfbinder@seattleschools.org

Libby Black-Walker | 206-252-8642 ljblackwalke@seattleschools.org

Bill Easter | 206-252-8623 wdeaster@seattleschools.org

Tasnim Elmaghrabi | 206-252-8595 taelmaghrabi@seattleschools.org

Michael Franzen | 206-252-8664 mafranzen1@seattleschools.org

Tyler Hurlbut | 206-252-8624 tdhurlbut@seattleschools.org

Sam Jensen | 206-252-8685 srjensen@seattleschools.org

Scott Jetton | 206-252-8627 bsjetton@seattleschools.org

Sophath Keith | 206-252-8677 sokeith@seattleschools.org

Jessica Montgomery | 206-252-8653 jlmontgomery@seattleschools.org

Vernel Nicholas | 206-252-8632 vonicholas@seattleschools.org

Michael Olsen | 206-252-8598 mjolsen1@seattleschools.org

Tiffany Rainwater-Jackson | 206-252-8582 tdrainwaterj@seattleschools.org

Joe Schultz | 206-252-8597 jmschultz1@seattleschools.org

Vanessa Schultz | 206-252-8677 vapepe@seattleschools.org

Andrew Tuller | 206-252-8596 artuller@seattleschools.org

Diane White-Shaw | 206-252-8712 dkwhiteshaw@seattleschools.org

Instructional Assistants

Johnny Birdwell | 206-252-8677 jlbirdwell@seattleschools.org

Olive Breshem | 206-252-8692 kebreshem@seattleschools.org

Andrew Chapman | 206-252-8642 ahchapman@seattleschools.org

Alix Claussen | 206-252-8595 afclaussen@seattleschools.org

Bronte Corbray | 206-252-8627 btcorbray@seattleschools.org

Raymond Dreyer | 206-252-8642 rjdreyer@seattleschools.org

Nicholas Durant | 206-252-8627 nadurant@seattleschools.org

Julianna Dynneson | 206-252-8653 jmdynneson@seattleschools.org

Bill Elleby | 206-252-8632 blelleby@seattleschools.org

Jason Frey | 206-252-8653 jafrey@seattleschools.org

Kyla Getzel | 206-252-8677 kagetzel@seattleschools.org

Rose Glen | 206-252-8642 roglenhutton@seattleschools.org

Stephanie Hughes | 206-252-8642 sahughes@seattleschools.org

Mindy Maloney | 206-252-8597 msmaloney@seattleschools.org

Mic Montgomery | 206-252-8597 mdmontgomery@seattleschools.org

Conner Murphy | 206-252-8632 comurphy@seattleschools.org

Jennifer McInnis | 206-252-8642 jlminar@seattleschools.org

Angie Mosley | 206-252-8653 ammosley@seattleschools.org

Marmer Patu | 206-252-8692 mpatu@seattleschools.org

Will Powell | 206-252-8597 wbpowell@seattleschools.org

Alexia Ramos | 206-252-8595 abvalencia@seattleschools.org

Clarence Robinson | 206-252-8677 crrobinson@seattleschools.org

Bill Shaver | 206-252-8582 weshaver@seattleschools.org

Pete Sheehy | 206-252-8597 prsheehy@seattleschools.org

Eugenia Thomas | 206-252-8582 elthomas@seattleschools.org

Eva Thompson | 206-252-8653 eathompson@seattleschools.org

Sherrill Vaughan | 206-252-8624 snvaughan@seattleschools.org

Sui Wandanda | 206-252-8685 smwandanda@seattleschools.org

Tasia Warnokowski-Caldwell | 206-252-86421 tnwarnokowsk@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chair

Carolyn Autenrieth | 206-252-8711 cjautenrieth@seattleschools.org

Teachers and Staff

Carolyn Autenrieth | 206-252-8711 cjautenrieth@seattleschools.org

Brittany DeLong | 206-252-8691 bvdelong@seattleschools.org

Jesse Gardner | 206-252-8640 jsgardner@seattleschools.org

Jorge Morales | 206-252-8591 jsmorales@seattleschools.org

Joey Roberts | 206-252-8592 jwroberts1@seattleschools.org

Department Information

Department Chairs

Joshua Hansell | 206-252-8630 jjhansell@seattleschools.org

Polyanna Wang | 206-252-8694 yewang@seattleschools.org

Teachers

Angela Duran-Real | 206-252-8650 anduranreal@seattleschools.org

Joshua Hansell | 206-252-8630 jjhansell@seattleschools.org

Elizabeth Moore-Obed | 206-252-8656 elmooreobed@seattleschools.org

Polyanna Wang | 206-252-8694 yewang@seattleschools.org

Department Information

The World Languages Department at Chief Sealth offers Chinese, Japanese and Spanish. All of the languages have levels from introductory level 1 to advanced International Baccalaureate classes. Students learn to become communicators, collaborators, critical thinkers and global citizens. Students think critically when analyzing texts, students practice communication skills in 4 domains, reading, writing, speaking and listening. Students learn to explore and appreciate other cultures. Students collaborate in creating products, practicing dialogues and evaluating diverse perspectives.